A Picture Worth 1000 Words

Photo

http://www.projectreverb.com/2013/12/16/prompt-for-december-16/

Today’s prompt is to give 1000 words, or just a picture that’s worth that.  This is my beautiful daughter and (one) of my most precious grandbabies – walking down by the river at the bottom of their property.  It was August.  It was hot.  1000 words would not begin to define the pride that I have in the woman that my daughter has become.  She is my daughter by love, not blood.  Some would call her a step-daughter.  But I raised her, much as her birth mother and the other women in her young life.  I didn’t divorce the kids, just their father.

I look at this picture and I think about the picture that my father has on his shelf; one of him and a great-grandson, walking hand in hand into the sunset, in an apple orchard; Pop is carrying a basket of apples. Vo is just about the same age as Ace.

I look at this picture and my heart swells with so much love and pride.  I remember the wonderful birthday party they gave me down there, on that grass where they are walking.  I think of the beautiful child, holding her mother’s hand and I praise and thank GOD for the abundance of blessings that he has given us.  There are no words, not even 10,000, that can describe the gratitude and love that I have for my family.

2 responses to “A Picture Worth 1000 Words

  1. Absolutely beautiful – both the photo and the words. So happy to find you via ProjectReverb today!

  2. Thank you — I’ve enjoyed your project.

Leave a Reply

