I am who I am today because of who I was yesterday

http://www.projectreverb.com/2013/12/04/prompt-for-december-4/

ProjectReverb Day #4: Hindsight is the one thing we never benefit from in the present.  Is there one moment you wish you could do over?

Titles? “I can see clearly now…”?  Nah… I’m running a day or so behind on the Prompt Of The Day, but I guess that’s okay.  To take one’s time and reflect; I’m thinking that’s the point.  Hindsight is a rather tricksy thing.  I’d like to call it an emotion; maybe it is.  It can be wisdom, or that “Doh!” moment where you realize just how truly unwise you really are.   I think sometimes that hindsight tends to lead to regret; and I vowed, long ago, never to live with regret.  So, the prompt asks, “Is there one moment of 2013 that you would do over?”.  That’s simple.  No.  I’d like to keep this piece upbeat and positive, so I won’t go into all the spiritual ramifications of regret, or “do overs”.  I’m just simply going to say, that as a Child of The Light, A Follower of The Way of Jesus Christ – I don’t actually accept the concept of regret.  When I fail or falter, I confess my sins and shortcomings and get back up to continue running the best race and giving the best effort that I can.  To do otherwise would be to make light of the sacrifice of the Grace Gift given to me by My Lord, Jesus Christ.  So, that being said  – I don’t live with regret, and hindsight only serves to give me insight into either the future or “what just happened?”

For example, in 2011 I took a job way below my qualifications, making less money than my first job in this career.  Its working for the state, so the benefits are excellent and the job has zero, alright 2%, stress and responsibility.  As I’ve said before, now that I’ve got my arms around it, I really should be ashamed for lolly-gagging around here, but I’m not.  I’ve worked hard all my life and now it’s my turn to just rest and coast for a while.  My husband said I could.  In fact, he’s the one who insisted.  This way, my main focus is on us and our home and not on my job.  Sounds fair; I knew he was the old-fashioned type when I married him.  However, this past year has been filled with lots of frustration and, at times, regret, for not taking a different path.  But I’ve got all that worked out now; thankfully.  I mentioned that 2014 promises to be an exciting year full of changes.  It may, in truth, simply be a returning to where I’ve been before.  I don’t know.  But I do know, that if I do go back, when it’s time to move forward again, that I’ll do things differently the next time.  Hindsight has given me insight, but not regret.

2 responses to “I am who I am today because of who I was yesterday

  1. I love that…”hindsight has given me insight, but not regret” VERY cool!

Leave a Reply

