Daily Prompt – Safety First

The Daily Prompt asks us to share a time when we felt unsafe.  Here’s a good one:

As a single mother of two growing teenage boys, it eventually became inevitable that I would be alone at night some times.  The boys would spend the night with their friends and I would just be at home with the dog and the cat.  Lots of company, no problem.  So one night I’m doing my thing, and I decide it’s time to go to bed.  I get all snuggled down under the covers, and I start to hear a noise.  A scratching noise.  It stops, then it starts.  Then it stops again.  Now, as a mother, I am able to identify most house noises, but this one, not quite.  Is it the back door?  What about the garage door?  Wait, there it is again.  I get my ax handle and start walking around the house.  The dog doesn’t seem a bit disturbed by this noise, but then she wouldn’t would she?  Not unless the intruder had a bag of french fries and some cheese paper to throw her.  This goes on and on for minutes, then an hour.  I’ve got myself worked up into an almost hysterical mess.  I’m thinking of calling someone; no – I’m the strong independent type.  There is no one in the house or trying to get in.  There’s that noise again..where is it coming from?

Finally, I have to calm down, breath, and realize that if this completely unidentifiable noise has not attacked me after an hour of looking for it, than it probably isn’t going to.  I sit on the edge of the bed.  I wait; I listen.  I follow.  It’s not in my room.  I walk to the doorway.  It’s in the hall.  I walk to the hall.  It’s all quiet.  Why won’t this noise sound-off when I get close to it?  Wait!  There it is again — the front bedroom.  I turn on the light; anything and anyone could be hiding under the mess in this room!  There, behind me.  ..it’s….it’s…..[sigh]…it’s the computer.  It’s the hard drive scratching.  Arghhhhh!!!  I’m an IT Support Person and I can’t identify the sound of a hard drive scratching in the night!!!

Haahhh…..okay.  Nothing to fear.  Everything’s fine.  See.  I knew it.  The dog looks at me like I’m nuts.  “Can we go to bed now?” she seems to be asking.  I calmly reach over and turn the computer off.  “Yes puppy dog, we can go to bed now.  Good night cat.  Good night house.  Good night silly computer.”

Leave a Reply

